Out-of-State Application Process
If both applicants live and have their registered address outside of Michigan they must apply in the county where the ceremony will be performed.
At least one of the applicants must come in person to and provide for both applicants proof of age, identity and residence. For any applicant not present a copy of their BIRTH CERTIFICATE and DRIVER’S LICENSE along with their SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER must be provided.
- Information required for the application:
- full name, age, date of birth and registered residence of applicants
- proof of identity (in the form of a driver’s license, passport, military ID or state ID)
- proof of age (in the form of a birth certificate, driver’s license, passport, military ID or state ID)
- proof of residence (in the form of driver’s license, or current bill addressed to applicant)
- the city and state you were born
- applicants’ social security number
- the full and correct spelling of your parents’ names, and mothers’ maiden name
- the State your parents were born
- If outside of the US, provide City, State (or equivalent) and Country
Click here to apply online
Click to download the In-Person application or obtain one at the Clerk’s Office
- Submit application (Online or in-person at the Clerk’s Office)
- In-person application office hours: M-F 8 AM to 4:30 PM
- For online applications you will receive a popup confirmation on screen that your application has been submitted. If not, please contact our office at 517-543-2494
- Provide proof of identity and residence and social security number for both applicants
- If applying in-person, bring proof documents at time of application
- If applying online, bring proof documents after 4-day waiting period when picking up license
- For any applicant not present a copy of their BIRTH CERTIFICATE and DRIVER’S LICENSE along with their SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER must be provided
- Affidavit is printed and proofed by applicant(s) for errors
- Applicant(s) signs affirming they are complying with Michigan marriage laws and application is true and correct
- $30 fee is due
- Online payment option, additional fees may apply
- After the 4 calendar day waiting period license is available to be picked up
- Pick-up available only during office hours for marriage applications: M-F 8 AM to 4:30 PM
- Please allow for up to 30 minutes spent in our office when picking up the license
NOTE: While there is no blood test or HIV/AIDS classes required when applying for marriage licenses, we are required by State law to provide a pamphlet on HIV/Aids testing when you apply.
- It is important your personal information (spelling, dates of birth and parents information) on the marriage license is correct. Please thoroughly proof your license before you leave our office.
- If you find an error after you are married and the license has been filed with the State of Michigan Vital Stats office it will require a court order by the Circuit Court to change; that fee is $150.00.
- The license is valid for 33 days (starting on date of the application)
- There is a 4 day waiting period before the license can be picked up
- This waiting period can be waived with valid reason and for a fee of $15
- The marriage license must be used in Eaton County when applicants are not Michigan residents
ÅBack to Marriage Main