Menu

Notary Public Information

 

Notary Information

Getting documents notarized

If you need a document notarized we offer Notary services at no charge.
Please bring your driver’s license or State ID to verify your identity.

Get driving directions to the County Clerk's office

 

It is the responsibility of a Notary Public to certify the person or persons signing a document to make sure they are the person stated on the document. Notarization on a document certifies that the person whose signature is entered on the document personally appeared before the notary, established his or her identity, and personally signed the document in the presence of the notary.

The Notary Public is a witness to a signature only, no legal advice is allowed by a notary.  A Notary Public, by legislation, is strictly prohibited to notarize for a family member.

Becoming a Notary

Qualifications:

·         You must be at least 18 years of age

·         A resident of the county in which you request appointment

o   An out-of-state resident must apply in the county in which his/her principal place of business is located.

To apply to become a notary, or renew you must bring to the Clerk’s office the following things:

1.   Your Notary Application,

2.   A Notary bond

3.   Your driver’s license or State ID

4.   Payment
We accept payment by cash, check, or debit or credit card (with cards additional fees apply)

 

Application Procedure

·         Obtain a $10,000.00 notary bond from a bonding company or insurance agency with your name exactly as you wish to be commissioned.

o   Licensed attorneys in Michigan are not required to file a surety bond, but must still bring in the application to the County Clerk’s office

·         Complete the application for Michigan Notary Public Appointment

o   At the bottom of the application in the designated spot print or type your name exactly the way you wish to be commissioned.

o   Sign the application (matching the way you wish to be appointed.) An original signature is required.

·         File the application and bond in person at the County Clerk’s Office and pay the filing fee of $10, checks made payable to: Eaton County Clerk
Please bring your drivers license or State ID, to verify your identity
First Floor 1045 Independence Blvd, Charlotte MI

·         Submit the sealed application and payment (application fee, see below) to:

By Mail to:
Michigan Department of State
Office of the Great Seal
7064 Crowner Dr
Lansing, MI 48918

-or-

 

 

In-Person at:
Richard Austin Building
1st  Floor
430 W Allegan St.
Lansing, MI 48933

Application fee of $10 paid as check or money order payable to: State of Michigan
(The application fee and the filing fee are two distinct fees paid separately, one to Eaton County Clerk and one to State of Michigan)

·         Notification of Appointment
After a commission is issued the State will send you a wallet-size certificate.
At that time your commission will be valid and you can start notarizing. This takes approximately 4-6 weeks.
You may not act as a notary public until you receive your certificate in the mail.

Every citizen appointed as a notary has a duty to learn the notarial laws on their own initiative.

Notary Law
Notary Public Act, 2003 PA 238 (MCL 55.261, et seq.)

Notary Public Information and Procedures
Michigan Secretary of State website

 

If you have further questions you can call our office at 517-543-2426.


Changes to Your Name or Address
If you legally change your name, residence and/or business address after you have been commissioned as a notary public; you must immediately notify the Office of the Great Seal.
A change form is available at the
Michigan Secretary of State website.

 

ÅBack to Clerk's Office Mainpage

Go to top