Delinquent Tax FAQ

[Back to Treasurer's Page]

Taxes, Forfeiture, and Foreclosure

Property owners with taxes that are two years delinquent will face foreclosure and the property will be sold at public auction. For example, those who fail to pay their 2016 delinquent property taxes will lose their property to foreclosure on April 1, 2019..

Interest Penalties and Fees for Failure to Pay
Taxes that are delinquent for more than one year will be assessed higher interest (1.5% per month as opposed to 1%). After one year, taxes will have a $175 Forfeiture Fee, $55 inspection fee, $30 recording fees, $30 redemption fee, and $55 legal fee is added. On November 30th at 5:00PM a $50 Publication/Notice Fee is also added.

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Will I really lose my home if I don’t pay my taxes?
A. Yes. If your taxes are delinquent for three years, your property will be lost.


Q. What is Forfeiture?

A. Forfeiture is the beginning of the foreclosure process. If your property is in forfeiture, you still have 12 months before it will be foreclosed. But, the interest and fees will be higher. When a property is forfeited, the interest rate goes from 1% per month to 1.5% per month, back to the date that the taxes became delinquent. A Notice of Forfeiture is recorded with the Register of Deeds.

Q. What happens after my property is in Forfeiture?  

A. After a property has been in Forfeiture for one year, it will be foreclosed. On Apirl 2, 2019, delinquent 2016 property taxes will be foreclosed.

Q. What is Foreclosure?

A. Foreclosure is the loss of your property. It occurs on April 1, after the Circuit Court Judgment is entered.

Q. Will I receive notification before my property is foreclosed?

A. Yes. Five notices will be provided. Two will be through first class mail, two by certified mail, and the last notice will be through personal service. Names and addresses of delinquent property owners may also be published in the local newspaper.

Q. What happens after my property is foreclosed?

A. You cannot get your property back after it has foreclosed. Foreclosed properties are sold at public auction.

Q. What if I don’t have all the money right now? 

A. Don’t wait! If you can’t pay all at once, you can make a partial payments if approved by the treasurer. When making payments, use a check or money order and remember to:

     1. Make it payable to the Eaton County Treasurer.
     2. Write your parcel number on it.
     3. Mail it to:

                        Eaton County Treasurer
                       1045 Independence Blvd

                       Charlotte, MI 48813 

Important Note: Partial Payments do NOT stop the foreclosure process!

If you cannot pay your taxes you can contact the Michigan Department of Human Services at (517) 543-0806, or visit them at 1050 Independence Blvd in Charlotte, Michigan for possible financial assistance. See the treasurer’s home page for information on foreclosure assistance organizations and programs available to Eaton County taxpayers.




Property Tax Foreclosure Timeline – 2016 Property Taxesdown-arrow


  • July / December 2016
    • 2012 property taxes are billed by city, village, or township treasurer.

  • March 1, 2014
    • Unpaid 2016 property taxes are forwarded to the county treasurer for collection. A 4% administrative fee and 1% per month interest is added to each parcel.

  • October 1, 2017
    • The county treasurer adds a $15 statutory fee to each parcel.

  • March 1, 2018
    • Property is forfeited to the county treasurer. A $175 fee, $55 inspection fee, $30forfeiture fee, and $30 redemption fee is added. Interest increases from 1% per month to 1.5% per month, back to the date the taxes became delinquent.

  • December 1, 2018
    • A $50 Publication/Notice fee is added.

  • February 1, 2019
    • The Circuit Court enters a Judgment of Foreclosure.


  • April 1, 2019
    • Clear title to the property passes to the Eaton County Treasurer.

 Don't lose your property!  Pay your overdue taxes now.  Foreclosure is final!