2012 Alvin Whitfield Community Service Awards

Eaton County Commission Chairman John Forell presented the 2012 Alvin Whitfield Community Service Awards at the November 20th Commission meeting at the Charlotte Government Center Chambers.

Forell led the recognition for the Parks Commission's second annual Whitfield ceremony which included an Eaton County resolution and a Legislative tribute sponsored by Senator Rick Jones and Representatives Deb Shaughnessy and Mike Shirkey, and Governor Rick Snyder.

Assisted by Parks Director John Greenslit, Barbara Modrack and Mary Jo White of the LSJ Community Newspapers and Travis Silvas of the County Journal received the annual media awards.

Special volunteer efforts were acknowledged for John Glaspie (Friends of the Parks), Sandra Vealey (Friends of the Parks), Rick Moore (Thornapple Trail Association), Chris Freiberger (Crandell Lake project), Russ Hicks (Quiet Water Society) and Mike Chappell (Friends of the Parks).

Additional volunteer recognition included Amy Moore (Ingham County Health Department-Smoke Free Parks), Jerry Podany (Charlotte Optimists), Gerald Goffin (Friends of the Parks), and Terry Dankenbring (Grand Ledge Lions).

Outstanding special event programs were honored including Steve Moffatt (Charter School State Cross Country Meet), Matt Dykstra (Rock the World), Ray Hilton (Ford Mustang Car Show) , Michelle Phillipich (Playmaker's Fun Run), Rachel Kuntzsch (Grand Adventure Race), Brian Peacock (Eaton County Sheriff's Aquatic Unit), plus Cecil Miller and Aimee King (Grand Ledge Garden Club).

Special mention included Kris and Kelly Lusis (Run and Play For Ariana), Beth Hinshaw (Memorial Bench donation) and brothers Randy and Daniel Crandell (County Park funding assistance). Chairman Forell also introduced a special resolution to the Lusis family to recognize their major donation to provide a tot lot at Fitzgerald Park.

Director Greenslit recognized County Commissioner Larry Brunette and Eaton Drain Commissioner Mike Atayan for their service on the Park Commission.

2012 Alvin Whitfield Community Service Award Resolution     Ariana Mae Memorial Tot Lot Resolution     2011 Whitfield Community Service Awards

 2012 Alvin Whitfield Community Service Awards

2012 AWCS Award - Barb Modrack  Mary Jo White
Pictured from left: Barb Modrack, LSJ Community Newspapers, County Chairmain John Forell, and Mary Jo White, LSJ Community Newspapers.


2012 AWCS Award-Freiberger  HicksPictured from left:  Chris Freiberger, Crandell Lake Project, County Chair John Forell, and Russ Hicks, Quiet Water Society.


2012 AWCS Award-Brian PeacockPictured from left:  Brian Peacock, Eaton County Sheriff's Aquatic Unit, and County Chair John Forell.

2012 AWCS Award-Kris  Kelly LusisPictured from left:  Kelly Lusis, County Chair John Forell, and Kris Lusis - Ariana Mae Memorial Tot Lot donation. 


2012 AWCS Award-Moore  Podany  Dankenbring
Pictured from left:  Amy Moore, Ingham Co. Health Dept., County Chair John Forell, Jerry Podany, Charlotte Optimist Club, and Terry Dankenbring, Grand Ledge Lions Club.


2012 AWCS Award-Michelle PhillipichPictured from left:  Michelle Phillipich, Playmaker's, and County Chair John Forell.



2012 AWCS Award-Cecil MillerPictured from left:  County Chair John Forell and Cecil Miller, Grand Ledge Garden Club.

2012 AWCS Award-Randy  Dan CrandellPictured from left:  Dan Crandell, County Chair John Forell, and Randy Crandell, Crandell Lake MNRTF Project. 


Go to top