In 2014 the Eaton County Board of Commissioners adopted a Property Assessed Clean Energy District (“PACE Program”) for the purpose of promoting the use of renewable energy systems and energy efficiency improvements by owners to certain real property. The Pace Program was established to provide a property owner based method of financing and funds for energy projects, including owner-arranged financing from commercial lender which funds and financing shall be secured and repaid by assessments on the property benefited.

Eaton County leads the state in the number of PACE projects in any single county, with 4 projects completed, all in Delta Township. (Which consequently leads the state in number of PACE projects per Township.)

The Eaton County Treasurer, in conjunction with the Eaton County Board of Commissioners, takes part in the PACE Program because it stimulates economic development, improves property values, reduces energy costs, reduces greenhouse gas emission, attracts and retains business, and increases employment in the County.

Eaton County Treasurer, Bob Robinson, serves as Chairperson for Eaton County's PACE District.