News Flash

Home - What's New in the County

Posted on: February 9, 2024 | Last Modified on: February 13, 2024

UPDATED: Eaton County included in Presidential Disaster Declaration


UPDATED:  Disaster assistance from the August 2023 storms now available through FEMA and the Small Business Administration

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Small Business Administration (SBA) has released information on how to apply for disaster assistance for recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding that occurred in August of 2023. Federal assistance may include temporary lodging, basic home repairs and other disaster-related expenses. The Small Business Administration is providing low interest loans to buisnesses and residents in Michigan. 

How to Apply for FEMA Assistance After August 2023 Michigan Disaster

Small Business Administration August 2023 Disaster Assistance Low Interest Loans

Eaton County included in Presidential Disaster Declaration

Federal assistance available for individuals & businesses

EATON COUNTY, MI – The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced this week that federal disaster assistance is now available to the State of Michigan for supplementing recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding that occurred from Aug. 24-26, 2023.

On August 24, areas in lower Michigan experienced several storm fronts that brought heavy rain, strong winds, and seven tornadoes. Governor Gretchen Whitmer made the request for a Major Disaster Declaration as communities across the state experienced road and bridge closures, downed trees and power lines, damage to building structures, embankments, and road surfaces, overwhelmed stormwater and sewer systems, and deposits of silt and debris. Hundreds of homeowners also reported residential flooding.  

FEMA makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Eaton, Ingham, Iona, Kent, Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, and Wayne counties. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-interest loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the disaster. Federal funding also is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in Eaton County can begin applying for assistance by registering online at, by calling 1-800-621-3362, or by using the FEMA App. If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service, or others, provide FEMA the number for that service.

Eaton County Emergency Management is the local coordinating agency, ensuring ongoing communication with fellow local, state, and federal partners throughout this process.


Read full press release...
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home - What's New in the County